top of page

That One Time it Wasn't Self Indulgent


My job as an ELC has taught me many things. But one of the most important lessons that this position has taught me is the importance of advocating for myself. It was once said:

“I have come to believe that caring for myself is not self-indulgent. Caring for myself is an act of survival” - Andre Lorde

I feel like this quote perfectly surmises the ever-present truth that self care is a necessity to a happy, meaningful, successful life. And, to me, self-advocacy is an integral aspect of overall care.

I divide self-advocacy into two separate disciplines. The first part is the most obvious part: to assert yourself and your needs. The second part, however, is the most important, and often most difficult part: to know what exactly it is that you do need. Although this sounds simple, I quickly realized that it is a far more complex challenge than it first appears. I ultimately found it rather difficult to identify what it was that I wanted and what I needed in order to function to my best ability.

However, after being provided the often fleeting opportunity to steal some time to myself, I was able to take a critical look inward and identify what exactly would aid in promoting my best self. I found that the following questions were instrumental in attaining that goal:

What types of environments encourage my best work?

Take a look at the spaces and people that you feel most productive in and around. Do

you like to do work in solitude? Ae you someone who needs constant interaction with

others? Do you require frequent affirmation from those that work alongside you and

employ you? In an ideal world, what/where/who would be in your “happy place”?

What makes me comfortable?

Life isn't all about necessity. Often times, in order to thrive, one must indulge in the

frivolities that bring them true happiness and contentment. For some people it's

something as small as a sweet treat or a drink at the end of the day. For others it's

routine exercise or adventure. While others still crave a more emotional release, such

as consistent connection with loved ones. Whatever your thing is, know it, own it and

make a point to incorporate it into your daily life.

What incentives me?

Incentives are essential to success. Without something to look forward to, it’s difficult to

consistently perform with any real vigor. What incentivizes people varies largely

depending on the individual. So think about that is important to you and what would

encourage you to get through the rougher parts of your personal and professional day.

It’s never too late to start caring for oneself. I’ve benefited exponentially from re-evaluating the importance of taking time for myself and advocating for what I need, and I know it could be equally as beneficial to those who are purposeful enough to do the same.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page